CETL Teaching Innovation Award

The nominees for this award are open to all full time faculty from all University of Connecticut Campuses. The individuals considered for this recognition show a demonstrated commitment to continuously improving teaching through innovation and reflective practice. They are dedicated to teaching effectiveness and support enhanced levels of student engagement and learning.This year, one Teaching Innovation Award will be honored and the winner awarded a stipend of $5,000.

The winner will be presented at the CETL Reception in April. The recipient will present at a Teaching Innovation Showcase in the 2018/2019 academic year, contribute to faculty outreach, and work with CETL staff to support faculty innovation across the University.

Who is Eligible?
The nominees for this award are open to all full time faculty from all University of Connecticut Campuses. This year, one Teaching Innovation Award will be honored and the winner awarded a stipend of $5,000.

Nomination Procedure
This year, deans and department heads will nominate eligible faculty for the CETL Teaching Innovation Award based on the criteria above. Faculty will be notified of their candidacy by December 4th, and will have five weeks to complete an awards supplemental packet which is due on January 8th. A committee of former teaching fellows will review the nominations and determine the winners of the 2018 Center for Excellence in Teaching & Learning Awards. Winners will be announced on March 5th and honored at the CETL Awards Reception on April 4, 2018.

Teaching Innovation Award Winner Archives:

2017-2018
Jeffrey Ladewig
Political Science
jeffrey.ladewig@uconn.edu

2016-2017
Gary Robbins
Natural Resources and the Environment
gary.robbins@uconn.edu

2015-2016
Roger Travis
Literature, Culture & Languages
roger.travis@uconn.edu

Teaching Scholar Award Winner Archives:

2014-2015
John Andrew Jolly-Ballantine
Geography
John-Andrew.ballantine@uconn.edu

Lauren Schlesselman
Pharmacy Practice
Lauren.Schlesselman@uconn.edu

2013-2014:
Jennifer Brown Mailly

Law School
Jennifer.2.Mailly@uconn.edu

Jason Courtmanche
English 
Jason.Courtmanche@uconn.edu 

2012-2013
René Roselle
Curriculum and Instruction
Rene.Roselle@uconn.edu

2011-2012
Thomas Barber

Mechanical Engineering
thomas.barber@uconn.edu

2010-2011
Thomas Abbott
Molecular & Cell Biology 
thomas.abbott@uconn.edu

Kristen H. Kimball
Physiology & Neurobiology
kristen.kimball@uconn.edu

2009-2010:
Kevin McEvoy
Marketing
Kevin.McEvoy@uconn.edu