CETL Teaching Fellow Awards

The nominees for this award are limited to full-time faculty (tenure track, tenured, or faculty in residence) with 5 years continuous service at the University. The individuals considered for this recognition show a commitment to teaching, demonstrated knowledge of pedagogy, and an interest in fostering innovative teaching practices at the University.

This year, up to two Teaching Fellows will be honored and each will be awarded a stipend of $5,000.

The Fellows will be celebrated and receive their medallions at the CETL Reception in April. Teaching Fellows engage in a number of teaching and learning activities including participation in workshops developed by CETL, encouraging teaching assistants to visit their classrooms, and serving as mentors for faculty in their discipline areas.

Who is Eligible?
The nominees for this award are limited to full-time faculty with 5 years continuous service at the University.

Nomination Procedure
This year, deans and department heads will nominate eligible faculty for the CETL Teaching Fellow Award based on the criteria above. Faculty will be notified of their candidacy by December 4th, and will have five weeks to complete an awards supplemental packet which is due on January 8th. A committee of former teaching fellows will review the nominations and determine the winners of the 2018 Center for Excellence in Teaching & Learning Awards. Winners will be announced on March 5th and honored at the CETL Awards Reception on April 4, 2018
.

Teaching Fellow Past Award Winners:

2017-2018
John Clausen
Natural Resources and the Environment
john.clausen@uconn.edu

Nicholas Leadbeater
Chemistry
nicholas.leadbeater@uconn.edu

2016-2017
Amit Savkar
Mathematics
amit.savkar@uconn.edu

Steven Zinn
Animal Science
steven.zinn@uconn.edu

2015-2016
Lisa Sanetti
Educational Psychology
lisa.sanetti@uconn.edu

2014-2015
Mary Truxaw

Curriculum and Instruction
Mary.Truxaw@uconn.edu

Ray DiCapua
Art & Art History
Ray.DiCapua@uconn.edu

Thomas Meyer
Natural Resource and the Environment
Thomas.Meyer@uconn.edu

2013-2014
Craig Coleman

Pharmacy Practice
Craig.Coleman@uconn.edu

Alans S. Marcus
Curriculum and Instruction
Alan.Marcus@uconn.edu

2012-2013
Douglas Kaufman
Curriculum and Instruction
Douglas.Kaufman@uconn.edu

Catherine Little
Educational Psychology
Catherine.Little@uconn.edu

2011-2012
Robert Milvae
Animal Science
Robert.Milvae@uconn.edu

2010-2011
Jane Kerstetter
Allied Health Services
Jane.Kerstetter@uconn.edu

2009-2010
Wendy Glenn
Curriculum & Instr. Dept.
Wendy.Glenn@uconn.edu