2017 Provost’s Academic Plan Mini Grant Competition Winners

2017mini-grantsThe Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL) is pleased to announce the winners of the third annual Provost’s Academic Plan Mini Grant Competition awards. The grant competition was designed to provide support for faculty innovation in teaching effectiveness and improved student learning outcomes.

Congratulations to all of the 2017 The Provost’s Academic Plan Mini Grant Competition Award winners:

Name(s) Title Department

Christopher Heinen
Barbara Kream
Tom Deans
Ellen Litman

UConn Health Writing Program for Biomedical Science Trainees Medicine-UConn Health and English Department
Bryan Weber Integration of Software-Based Problem Solving in Thermodynamics Instruction Mechanical Engineering
Jamie Kleinman Specifications Grading in Psychological Science Psychological Science (AVP)
Jennifer Pascal Using Student-Developed Comics to Enhance Learning of Fluid Mechanics Chemical & Biomolecular Engr.
David M. Pierce Flipping Over Biomechanics: Improving Outcomes in a Foundational Course for Biomedical Engineers Mechanical Engr. / Biomedical Engr.
Xian Wu
Diego Valente
On-line Learning Suite Modules for Mediating Mathematical Skill with Physics Physics
Devin Kearns
Marney Pollack
Using Live, "Bug-In-Ear" Coaching to Provide Immediate Feedback to In-Service Teachers Educational Psychology
Rachael Gabriel
Hannah Dostal
Evidence-based Understandings & Practical Knowledge of Literacy Instruction Department of Curriculum and Instruction (EDCI)
John-Andrew Ballantine
Lori Comeau
Creating Videos to Improve Classroom Outcomes for Students with Disabilities Geography
Wendy Vanden Berg-Foels
Bin Feng
Patrick Kumavor
Biomedical Engineering design: supporting active learning with a hybrid course structure and cloud-based project management tools Biomedical Engineering

 2016 Award Winners