2016 Provost’s Academic Plan Mini Grant Competition Award Winners

2016-academic-plan-awardThe Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL) is pleased to announce the winners of the second annual Provost’s Academic Plan Mini Grant Competition awards. The grant competition was designed to provide support for faculty innovation in teaching effectiveness and improved student learning outcomes.




Congratulations to all of the 2016 The Provost’s Academic Plan Mini Grant Competition Award winners:


Name(s) Title Department
Anke Finger Digital Storytelling: Engaged and active learning towards Intercultural Competence Literatures, Cultures, and Languages
Annamaria Csizmadia Promoting Active Learning through Blended and Flipped Classroom Design in HDFS Graduate Education: Revision of HDFS 5102: Early and Middle Childhood Development Human Development & Family Studies
Brenda Brueggemann
Lisa Blansett
Remapping The Theory and Teaching of Writing English
Gary Robbins Mobile Applications for Teaching Water Resources Concepts and Measurements Natural Resources and the Environment
Adam Giambrone Using Preview Readings and Technology in an Active Learning Calculus Course Mathematics
Anthony Rizzie A Hands-On Approach to Multivariable Calculus Mathematics
Mary Bruno
Linda McCollam-Guilani
Streamlining the Introduction to Biochemistry (MCB 2000) Laboratory Experience to Improve Critical and Analytical Thinking Skills Molecular and Cell Biology
Diego Valente Bridging the Gap Between Math and Physics Physics
Emma Bojinova Promoting Active Learning and Engagement in a Large Food and Sustainability GenEd Course Agricultural & Resource Economics
Jill Fitzgerald
Lisa Holle
Improving P1 Student Pharmacist Readiness for Introductory Pharmacy Practice
Greg Kivenzor Use of gamification to enhance and enrich the teaching and learning process of adult learners Marketing
Ioulia Valla Reconstructing Thermodynamics Instruction Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Mark Overmeyer-Velasquez Transnational Ethnic Studies in Action: Course Expansion with a Focus on New Teaching Technologies and Student-Centered and Collaborative Pedagogy. History/El Instituto
Myron Minn-Thu-Aye Developing an inquiry-based course format in mathematics Mathematics
Parasura Sridham Duggirala Software tools and flipped classroom for teaching theoretical computer science Computer Science and Engineering
Shinae Jang Online active learning module for engineering research methods Civil & Environmental Engineering

 2015 Award Winners